Main Menu

BISHOP McNAMARA HIGH SCHOOLA Catholic, Holy Cross, Coeducational, College Preparatory School for Grades 9-12

A Night to Honor Faithful Service and Stewardship: the Caritas Awards Ceremony

The Caritas Awards Ceremony 2022

The Andy Mona Student Center was transformed into an elegant banquet hall on Friday, June 3rd as the Bishop McNamara High School community came together for the Caritas Awards Ceremony 2022 to honor those who have given so much in acts of faithful service and stewardship, and who have contributed to our continued success. Guests mingled while enjoying hors d'oeuvres and wonderful musical presentations from our student band program. This was followed by a delicious sit-down dinner, the awards presentations, and an inspiring keynote speech from Senator Melony Griffith.

Caritas is a Latin term meaning loving-kindness towards others. It is linked to the generosity and helpfulness one extends to another; the act of self-sacrifice for the good of others; genuine charity motivated by love. Caritas is held to be the ultimate perfection of the human spirit.

Women and men honored with the Bishop McNamara Caritas Award exhibit these qualities and exemplify the values and vision of Father Basil Anthony Moreau, founder of the Congregation of Holy Cross.

The following women and men were honored at the Caritas 2022 event:

Distinguished Parents' Club Volunteer ~ Mrs. Evie Adams Simmons

Business Partner of the Year ~ LabtechMD

Distinguished Young Alumni Award ~ Ms. Courtney Jiggetts '15

Distinguished Alumni Award ~ Dr. Brenda Jones Harden LR '75

Distinguished Alumni Award ~ Mr. Jared Wilson '07

Presidential Award ~ Senator Melony Griffith and the District 25 Team

Holy Cross Award ~ Dr. Triesta Fowler-Lee LR '91

Holy Cross Award ~ Dr. Geoffrey Mount Varner '85

St. Andre Award ~ Mr. Garry Perkins '75

Splash Award ~ Ms. Dana Shieh

Toni Millner "Unsung Hero" Award ~ Ms. Celena Wienand '10

Golden Mile Award ~ Mr. Armani Mason-Callaway '09

Golden Mile Award ~ Mr. Dominic Traino

Goyette Endowed Chair for Teaching Excellence ~ Ms. Jan Steeger

Distinguished Staff Member of the Year ~ Dr. Jessica Nash

Distinguished Faculty Member of the Year ~ Mr. Adam Greer

Thank you to all of our awardees for their service and stewardship!


Enjoy a slideshow of the celebration below:

Caritas 2022

Top News Stories

Play and Pause Buttons for Slideshow