SSL Certificate
You have 1 PagePop. View


We bring you news of what is happening in our community - events, awards, and the great things our students, faculty and staff, parents and alumni are doing every day at BMHS!

Click on Alerts icon on the main BMHS News page to sign up for the latest news in your email box or on your phone.

NHS Induction Ceremony honors student of scholarship, leadership, character and service
Posted 12/17/2018 11:54AM

NHS Students take the Oath of Membership for the National Honor SocietyCongratulations to our Bishop McNamara students who were honored at the National Honor Society Induction Ceremony held on November 27th in the Fine Arts Theatre.

The evening began with a hearty welcome from our new NHS President Keirsten Stokes '19, along with a prayer led by our NHS Chaplain, Laila Yarrish '19. Solé Calá '19, NHS Historian, gave a historical sketch of the National Honor Society. This was followed by the Installation Ceremony of the NHS officers (see list below), with each officer speaking on one of the four pillars of the NHS, qualifications for membership: Scholarship, Service, Leadership, and Character. President/CEO Dr. Marco J. Clark '85 and Principal Dr. Nigel A. Traylor welcomed and presided over the induction of the new NHS members NHS Induction Keynote Speaker, alumnus Mr. Ryan Middleton '06, a staffer to Senator Ben Cardin and co-founder of Jetpack(listed below). NHS Moderator, Mrs. Linda Corley, led all members in the Oath of Membership.

We offer a special thank you to our keynote speaker, alumnus Mr. Ryan Middleton '06, a staffer to Senator Ben Cardin and co-founder of Jetpack. Welcome back to BMHS and thank you for your words of encouragement and challenge to our students.

More about NHS

The National Honor Society (NHS) is the nation's premier organization established to recognize outstanding high school students. More than just an honor roll, NHS serves to recognize those students who have demonstrated excellence in the areas of scholarship, service, leadership, and character. These characteristics have been associated with membership in the organization since its beginning in 1921.

Officers of the Bishop McNamara High School National Honor Society 2018-2019

New Officers into the National Honor Society

Kiersten Stokes '19 from Upper Marlboro, MD,  NHS President
Tyler Brockett '19 from Mitchellville, MD, NHS Vice President
Olivia Fenwick '19 from Bowie, MD, NHS Secretary/Treasurer
Solé Calá '19 from Bowie, MD, NHS Historian
Laila Yarrish '19 from Silver Spring, MD,  NHS Chaplain

Present Membership Class of 2019

Grace Akinmade Jalyn Hill
Christina Ambrose Kayla Holland
Nicole Fei Andaya Promise Jackson
Wesley Barnes Sydney Johnson
Morgan Bernard Mary Kacar
Bryson Boston Tamya Matthews
Braelynn Braswell Morgan McCann
Kayla Bridgers Miles Miller
Jordyn Broadnax Matthew Payne
Tyler Brockett Haedn Rho
Jordan Brown Megan Rivera
Sole Cala Joi Robinson
Nailah Chambers Alliyah Sanders
Celine Chiong Kennedy Sarvis
Leah Dawson Emma Settles
Dwight Debnam Ashley Smith
Christine delaPaz Ryan Steed
Makayla Dixon Kiersten Stokes
Imani Ezell Nicole Sumpter
Olivia Fenwick Jamyra Thomas
Jaelyn Fletcher Riley Tinsley
Sydni Gilmore Ellik Trotman
Ajaya Green Harrison Wallace
Taylor Hargraves Bria Welcome
Kennedy Harmon Laila Yarrish
Lauren Hawkins  

Inductees – Class of 2019

Coya Cockerham            
Krista Davis                    
Delaney Dixon                
Simone James                  
Zurie Lewis  
Christina McPhail  
Deja Stephenson
Destiny Thomas
Varonika Ware
Layla White
Inductees – Class of 2020
Gabrielle Ada                  
Sadia Bangura                  
Jaida Barnes                      
Miles Barton                      
Principal Dr. Nigel A. Traylor and NHS Moderator/Faculty member, Mrs. Linda Corley, presenting certificates to new NHS student inductees.Shown here with Dr. Traylor, Brennan Wicks '20
Ahjae Batts                        
Alexis Blackmon              
Nilah Blackmon                  
Alyssa Boykin                    
Layla Brittain                    
Alexandra Broome              
Angela Brown                    
Lyris Brown                        
Paris Brown                        
Jessica Caraballo              
Khalil Cooper                    
Bille Daniel                        
Adrienne Davis                  
Brianna Davis                    
Taylor Davis                        
Angelo DeGraff                  
Isabella Franklin                
Bailey Guy                          
Cole Harriston                    
Takeima Hawkins                
Natalie Hayes                    
Nola Hill                              
Pia Hooks                            
Mary Horecky
Adriana Imes
Anna Irwin
Charles James
Nadia Joseph
Kolade Kola-AdewuyiNHS President Kiersten Stokes '19 delivers a hearty welcome to the new and returning members of the NHS
Lauren Liberati
Ayanna McCarley
Cort McElroy
Ricarda Mills
Mayah Morant
Lindsay  Newman
Chinyere Okonkwo
Kimeal Parham
Nailah Reaves
Langston Ross
Isaiah Sampilo
Terry Thomas Jr.
Logan Troyner
Lailah Turnage
Kendall Tyler
Sage Ware
Aliyah Waterman
Brennan Wicks
Bailey Wilcox
Jaya Williams
Nadia Wilson
Nicky Zhang
Congratulations to all NHS officers and students. Thank you to parents, families, friends and faculty who have supported these students and who attended this event.
For this article and all other Bishop McNamara High School news articles, go to BMHS News. Click on Alerts icon on the BMHS news page to sign up for news in your email box or on your phone. 
Bishop McNamara High School
6800 Marlboro Pike, Forestville, MD 20747
Phone: 301.735.8401
Fax: 301.735.0934


powered by finalsite