SSL Certificate

Mother Mary of the Seven Dolors

By Dr. Marco J. Clark '85, President/CEO


Our Lady of SorrowsToo often, the focus we give as a Congregation is on the contribution of the brothers and the priests. The dear sisters of the Congregation sometimes overlooked, but are just as important as the men. A very important contributor to the early beginnings of Holy Cross and a true pioneer was the the foundress of the Marianite Sisters of Holy Cross, Mother Mary of the Seven Dolors. In 1845, Leocadie Gascoin, given the religious name Mary of the Seven Dolors, was named the Superior General of the Marianites.

When Fr. Moreau formed the Congregation of Holy Cross his vision was to model it after the Holy Family by bringing together priests, brothers and sisters. Today there are three branches of sisters within the Congregation--the Marianite Sisters of Holy Cross, the Sisters of the Holy Cross, and the Sisters of Holy Cross. The Academy of the Holy Cross in Kensington, MD is a part of the family of Holy Cross and is sponsored by the Sisters of the Holy Cross.
You can click on this link to learn more about Mother Mary of the Seven Dolors. Yvonne Saunders, the Middle School Head at Gilmour Academy, a Holy Cross sponsored K-12 school located in Gates Mill, OH, has also written a reflection, which you can read here.
Bishop McNamara High School
6800 Marlboro Pike, Forestville, MD 20747
Phone: 301.735.8401
Fax: 301.735.0934


powered by finalsite